New map with 61 municipalities approved by Parliamentary Commission

Tirana, 17 July 2014 – The final map of the new territorial division of Albania, with 61 municipalities was approved today by the Ad-Hoc Parliamentary Commission on Administrative and Territorial Reform. 14 new municipalities were added to the draft-map with 47 LGUs, after the Parliamentary Commission reviewed and took into consideration the opinions of the local government units and the proposal of PDIU (Party for Justice Integration and Unity).

The Minister of State for Local Issues, Bledi Ccucci highlighted that “all 61 municipalities proposed in the new final map were also included in the previous maps.” He noted that the technical criteria approved by the Parliamentary Commission were taken into account and were applied in each and every case.

PDIU Party joined today the Parliamentary Commission on Administrative and Territorial Reform noting that the territorial reform is a national necessity.

The final map with 61 municipalities will be approved by the Council of Ministers and is expected to get the final vote in the Parliament of Albania at the end of July.

14 additional municipalities:

1.            Fushë – Arrëz
2.            Klos
3.            Vorë
4.            Rrogozhinë
5.            Belsh.
6.            Prrenjas
7.            Roskovec
8.            Ura Vajgurore
9.            Poliçan
10.          Selenicë
11.          Konispol
12.          Memaliaj
13.          Këlcyrë
14.          Libohovë

facebooklogo     youtubelogo

Technical Secretariat

Bulevardi “Dëshmorët e Kombit”
Tirana, Albania

Tel: +355 42 277561